In NJ, an underage drinker must now submit to a breath sample for chemical testing. If they refuse, they will be subject to the DWI-DUI Refusal penalties which include:
- Loss of license
- Insurance Point (even though there was no driving)
- Surcharges of $1,000 per year for 3 years
- Possible enhancements (school zone)
This means that if a New Jersey high school student makes one bad decision by having a sip of beer (.01 B.A.C.) he will be subject to these draconian penalties. Actually, his or her parents will be stuck with these penalties.
How is a high school student to pay fines and an additional surcharge of $3,000 to the State of New Jersey? This is in addition to losing his or her license and then possible a job or afterschool program.
In today’s world, parents cannot monitor their children’s activities every minute, nor prevent teenagers from doing what they choose. This new law appears to punish the parents for their child’s behavior. It would be a different situation if the parents provided the alcohol.
What do you think about this new law?